Forum Replies Created
-
AuthorPosts
-
Michael GilkesKeymastersend it to support[at]valorapps[dot]com
Michael GilkesKeymaster@dougevans. Oops. Please re-download again. I left in some old code from the previous test script. Sorry about that.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@dougevans. Oh… I just noticed your new post. It’s strange that it is detecting the mime type correctly, but for some reason is not finding it in the list. Ok. I will look at the code I have to see what is going on.
If I could get access to your page to have a look for myself, that would be helpful. Just send me an email with the link. Depending on what I see on the page, we can go from there.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@dougevans. Here is the new link to the updated test script: mime test script version 4
Michael GilkesKeymaster@dougevans. Please post what you have in “Permitted file types” in your Module Manager.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@dougevans. I realize that you are trying to get help for your situation. You opened up another post, so… let’s continue the conversation there. I already responded to that one. I will provide another test script for you to use. Give me a little time. However, I will post it in the other post, just to not make the conversation be fragmented. OK? Cool.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@dougevans. Thanks for posting. The information provided to you at the end of the module is not an error. It is some information about your php setup to see how compatible it is for detecting the MIME type of the file. So, first off, don’t worry about that.
For someone with PHP 5.2, it is typical to have FILEINFO_MIME_TYPE not defined and mime_content_type unavailable. I provide that information to make it easier for me to diagnose any problems and to give advice as to how to make everything work for your situation.
With that said, Doug, I can definitely help you. Send me either a screenshot or description of the error you are getting when you upload a file. The great thing about your situation is that exec is working on your host, so, we can move forward from there.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@agussol. Yeah, that is weird. I just tested it on IE9 and Chrome on Windows 7, and it works! I’ll have to install Firefox on Windows to test, but there are my screenshots so far:
So, I find it strange that yours was working initially, and now it is not working, but all my tests on your site are working. Maybe you can share some screenshots, so we can figure it out.
At the end of it though, as I mentioned before, I have no control over how Google Docs Viewer works, I can only offer access to the service.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@agussol. Thanks for posting the link.
I just tested it on the following:
Firefox 9: Works
Opera 11: Works
Safari 5: Works
Michael GilkesKeymaster@agussol. Thanks for posting Nicolas. However, you have to give me more info than that. Do you have a link to the page with the listing that I could see?
Also, please bear in mind that I cannot be responsible for how Google Docs Viewer behaves. Sometimes, even when I was testing it, especially with IE, I noticed that it would go blank when loading in the iframe, and then after I clicked the “Open in a New Window” icon in the top right hand corner, it would open up in the new window/tab and then after that it would work in the iframe. Weird.
The fact that it was working perfectly before and you didn’t change anything could mean that it could just be a quirk in Google Docs Viewer. However, I am certainly willing to check it out for you. Either post a link here or send it to me in an email, if you prefer more privacy.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@dlr. Thanks for posting. Easy Folder Listing Module only displays the files within a particular folder. It does not display subfolders, nor the contents of subfolders.
If you want that functionality, you will have to use my Easy Folder Listing Pro plugin. You check out the demo here: http://demos.michaelgilkes.com/joomla/
Michael GilkesKeymaster@mira.baka. Thanks for sending me the link via email. I had a look at the site, and checked the error console using Safari browser. The error displayed is:
SyntaxError: Unexpected token ‘<‘ files:37
When I click on this error, it refers to the fact that you have
123<![CDATA[<br />... your code here ...<br />]]>surrounding your javascript. It seems as though what you need to do is to either 1) do not use the CDATA tags, or 2) comment the CDATA tags out, so that it would look like this:
123//<![CDATA[<br />... your code here ...<br />//]]>Notice the inline comment delimiters, //, as placed before the CDATA start and end tags.
Now, for reference, someone else noticed this issue before. See here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general/browse_thread/thread/e79916f2d9fc8fec/d1391415eb15a9ea
Based on that reference, I suspect that you may be experiencing this problem because the content-type for your page is not set. You currently have it set to <meta charset=”utf-8″>, and it should be <meta http-equiv=”content-type” content=”text/html; charset=utf-8″ />
I realize that you have the site setup for HTML5, but have a look at this for reference: http://oli.jp/2009/html5-charset/
Lastly, changing the meta tag can be done by editing your template.
Let me know if this helps.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@mira.baka. Thanks for posting. From what you describe it sounds like a javascript issue. Sometimes it is a conflict between jQuery and Mootools. For me to help you more, and give you a possible solution, would you please post a link to the page with the listing. If you prefer not to post the link on the site, you can send it to my email: support[at]valorapps[dot]com
Once I get the link, I will examine the page, and check for any errors in the Browser console, then based on the errors, I’ll tell you what’s going on and what to do to fix it. If I need further access, we’ll discuss it then.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@Piper. Thanks for sending me moe info via email. From looking at your site, you actually have a couple of things going on. You have both Easy Folder Listing Pro and Easy Flash Uploader on the same page. If you check the console you will see that you have javascript errors that actually relate to Easy Folder Listing Pro. Because you have javascript errors, the javascript to load the Browse Button doesn’t execute.
The good thing is that your problem is relatively simple to solve. You are running a Joomla 1.5 site, but you have not activated the Mootools Upgrade plugin, which will upgrade your Mootools from version 1.12 to 1.2.5. So, to solve your problem, please follow the instructions located here: https://www.valorapps.com/faq.html?catid=2
Once your enable the Mootools Upgrade plugin, both plugins will work.
Michael GilkesKeymaster@alfred. Thanks for responding. I am open to constructive criticism, as I would like to have a favorable interaction with others who use my software.
Although I too won’t go into a debate, all I would say about the use of Ads on the support site is that not all of my software is commercial (or paid) software. Some of my software is FREE, and I still offer the same level of support as with the commercial software. Even my commercial titles are offered at a nominal cost. In addition, I don’t offer an expensive subscription service (or service contract), like other developers/companies, that covers ongoing support. I keep it open for anyone to ask for help when they need it, and I avail myself when I can.
In all honesty, I only have one banner at the top, and the use of Infolinks. It is a very minimal setup, and I believe that it is unobtrusive and reasonable.
Lastly, thanks for sharing your experience with keeping software “donationware”. I also experienced that when I started out with the free versions.
All the best,
Michael
-
AuthorPosts