How to set MIME types for Photoshop files?

Home \ forums/topic \ How to set MIME types for Photoshop files?

Support Home Page Forums Joomla Software Easy File Uploader Module How to set MIME types for Photoshop files?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    DesignM8
    Participant

I’ve tried adding this to the ‘Permitied file types’ box:

application/x-msexcel;image/photoshop;image/x-photoshop; image/psd;application/photoshop;application/psd; zz-application/zz-winassoc-psd

but .psd files are still not allowed, I get this error message:

ERROR: The uploaded file type , image/vnd.adobe.photoshop, is not permitted.

I’m new at this so please let me know what simple error I’m making!

Michael Gilkes
    Keymaster

@DesignM8. Thanks for posting. All you have to do is to use the mime type provided to you in the error message. So, please add “image/vnd.adobe.photoshop” to your list of permitted mime types.

I deliberately set the error message to list the detected mime type so that the user can see what mime type is being detected.

Hope this helps. If you need any further help, don’t hesitate to post again.

DesignM8
    Participant

Many thanks Michael, simple! Excellent code, wonderful module.

petneb
    Participant

I put in the mime type image/vnd.adobe.photoshop but it still gives me a mime type error, any ideas?

Has media manager allowed filename extensions or mime types got anything to do with the problem?

petneb
    Participant

Funny, went to http://www.webmaster-toolkit.com/mime-types.shtml and found that mime type of psd files are application/octet-stream. After I added this mime type to the allowed mime types, it works. I think I have to investigate the security implications of this mime type.

Michael Gilkes
    Keymaster